Melissavirgo's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

My name is Melissa…!

 

OK friends…as u have guessed by my username, my original name is Melissa…well, here is a lil history about my name.

My parents told me that my name was a split decision between Melissa and Melinda, my dad favored Melinda, but of course Melissa won, hands down. Anyway…I like to be referred as Melissavirgo for the time being!!!

Some of the cherished names I have been called throughout the years as compared  to the names below are:

Mel, Missy, MelissaAnn(that’s all my dad called me!) Mewissa, Mel -issa(yes two words), Mimi, Missyann, Mush… I could go on for days!! Anyways, here goes. I found this interesting info  on the net under melissa.net.au, I hope u enjoy!!

Lis
Lissa*
Lissie
Lissy
Malissa
Me’Lisa 
Meli
Melis
Melisa
Melise
Melisende
Meliss
Melissa 
Melissah
MelissaLee*
Melissande
Melisse 
.
Melissia
Mel
Mell
Melle 
Melly
Mellie 
Mellisa 
Mellissa
Melyssa
Melyssa
Melza
Melzaroo”
Milissa
Missy
Mlsa
MsLissy
Miss Lissy
Smelly.

How to say Melissa
PRONUNCIATION:  “meh-li-ssah” or “muhl-ih-ssuh”

My Melissa History
Prior to 1960 (in Australia, where I am) the name Melissa was rather rare. It started becoming more fashionable in Australian useage only from the late 1960s onwards. Finding Melissa’s in their 40s and 50s now is quite uncommon. I was the only Melissa at my primary school, I don’t remember any other Melissa’s at my high school either. My mother used to call me ‘Lissy Loo’ and only called me Melissa if I was in trouble…  I hated my name so much at high school I changed it to Lisa. I was also burdened with a very long Polish surname. It was dreadfully embarrassing EVERY time I was asked my name to be greeted with “Whaat?”  Once I matured more and began my career as a journalist, I switched back to Melissa and with a surname beginning with B and a name essentially meaning honeybee Melissa [HunnyBee] BEE is me. The stuff on this page is about MELISSA’s from all walks of life and ages and from all over the world. —Melissa BEE

Melissa
A 3-syllable girl’s name of Greek origin, means: A bee; industrious. 
Entertainers with this name include * Melissa Gilbert (Television) * Melissa Etheridge (Musicians) . Melissa is the 40th most popular girl’s name. Melissa is also a name in the category of  Flowers. More on the name of Melissa
Dear Melissa: The following analysis describes a few qualities of your first name. There are many additional factors (legal name, nicknames, family surname, combined names, previous names, and business signature) that contribute to your entire personality – and your entire life. 

Your name of Melissa gives you a clever mind, good business judgment, a sense of responsibility, and an appreciation of the finer things of life. You are serious-minded and not inclined to make light of things even in little ways, and in your younger years you had more mature interests than others your age. Home and family mean a great deal to you and it is natural that you should desire the security of a peaceful, settled home environment where you can enjoy the companionship of family and friends. Whatever you set out to accomplish you do your very best to complete in accordance with what you consider to be right. In the home you assume your responsibilities capably, having the self-confidence to form your own opinions and make your own decisions. Others can rely on you; once you have given your word you will do your utmost to fulfil a responsibility. However, there is a tendency to be a little too independent in your thinking and it is difficult for you to accept the help of others when you should. Due to your strong sense of responsibility, you could experience worry and mental turmoil through assuming more responsibility than you should. Friction could arise through others feeling that you were interfering with their rights and privileges, even though you are only trying to help. 

Origin of the name Melissa
The name Melissa is derived from Greek mythology.  Melissa was a nymph that cared for the infant Zeus while he was being hidden from his father, the king of the gods.  Melissa plundered bee hives in order to feed honey to Zeus, who developed a permanent sweet tooth. When Melissa’s role in protecting Zeus was discovered, she was turned into some lowly species of insect. Zeus later took pity on her and turned her into a honeybee, which is forever involved with making honey. (Parenthetical note:  if Zeus had meant to do Melissa a favor, why didn’t he turn her back into a nymph instead?)  See THE MELISSA BOOK for an up-to-date version.

July 22, 2010 Posted by | Uncategorized | | Leave a comment