Melissavirgo's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Great Mother’s Day Weekend!!

Well folks, although I DID end up spending last Sunday, Mother’s Day at work, my kids and I did get to spend some quality time together at the airshow last Saturday in Tuscaloosa. I had warned my kids when the construction started earlier this year that by no means was I going to torture myself (and them) with the snarling traffic like we luckily avoided last year when we went.  I knew there were going to be crazy detours this year.

<object width=”480″ height=”385″><param name=”movie” value=”http://www.youtube.com/v/Tqy7unPBDdU&hl=en_US&fs=1&”></param><param name=”allowFullScreen” value=”true”></param><param name=”allowscriptaccess” value=”always”></param><embed src=”http://www.youtube.com/v/Tqy7unPBDdU&hl=en_US&fs=1&” type=”application/x-shockwave-flash” allowscriptaccess=”always” allowfullscreen=”true” width=”480″ height=”385″></embed></object>

ba2.jpg

 MG 4742

Considering how close I work in proximity to the airport, I could see the Blue Angels practicing in the afternoons during the week prior to the show during my breaks outside. Finally I gave in because I had gotten that same pumped up thrill I got LAST year when the kids and I found out they were coming to town!

ba4.jpg

 MG 3716

So Friday  evening  I allowed one friend of my girls’ to spend the night  over and my oldest daughter spent the night HER friend’s house and I picked them up bright and early the next morning. Including myself, there were 7 of us in tow . We packed a cooler full of food, drinks, and brought a bunch of snacks and headed out around 7:30 a.m. We got a pretty good parking spot near the airport, thank goodness!!

airshow.jpg

 MG 4900

While the kids were off doing their own thing, my little one and I caught up with my boyfriend who had arrived an hour after us. Boy did we  enjoy the show!!! It was spectacular as usual! I especially love the parachute jumpers and of course the BLUE ANGELS!!!  They were the finale, and performed for at least a half hour. The weather was absolutely GORGEOUS, almost if not 90 degress. Wow, it was worth getting my face sunburned(I should have known better it happened last year too)!!

 MG 3721

 MG 4198

 MG 4572

My family and I are looking forward to next year’s airshow already!! Hopefully I can convince some of my family members from out of town to join us next time and we can do something big at the Robert Cardinal Park next door to the airport. As soon as it is confirmed they will be back, my plans WILL be in full effect!!

 MG 4212

May 17, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

3 Comments »

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by melissa hodges. melissa hodges said: Great Mother's Day Weekend!!: http://wp.me/pRa9t-1w […]

    Pingback by Tweets that mention Great Mother’s Day Weekend!! « Melissavirgo's Blog -- Topsy.com | May 19, 2010 | Reply

  2. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, VideoChat with Amateur Girls at Home Alone!

    Comment by Roninyfrefrib | May 23, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks!!!! Glad to know that, keep looking out for more!!

      Comment by melissavirgo | May 31, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

