Melissavirgo's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

That’s My Sign!!

Now that I’m getting used to this blogging thing, more ideas are popping in my head daily. Today I want to touch on my zodiac sign, Virgo. As you see, my user name is Melissavirgo because I feel a strong connection to being a Virgo. From the first time I ever even read up on my sign as a teen, I truly believed that it best described me.

Wikipedia.com

Some of my interesting reading  in Wikipedia.com has enlightened me of my birth sign . Virgo is the sixth astrological sign in the zodiac. 

Generally, Virgo is considered compatible with same element signs, Taurus, Capricorn, Scorpio and Virgo itself.[5] These signs share an earthy demeanor and are believed to relate with each other on that merit.

According to astrology-online.com/virgo.htm:

Traditional
Virgo Traits

Modest and shy
Meticulous and reliable
Practical and diligent
Intelligent and analytical

On the dark side….

Fussy and a worrier
Overcritical and harsh
Perfectionist and conservative

 That’s me to a T! And it’s not like I changed myself to fit into the mold, trust! When I was a child I was chided for ‘keeping it real’ often. And now that I’m an adult, I try to  give everyone the benefit of the doubt, and take into consideration others’ feelings before speaking out. My biggest problem NOW more or less is not WHAT I say, but HOW I say it. Well, I’ll be the first to admit that I AM a work in PROGRESS!!!

The article goes on to say:

Virgo is the only zodiacal sign represented by a female. It is sometimes thought of as a potentially creative girl, delicately lovely; sometimes as a somewhat older woman, intelligent but rather pedantic and spinsterish. The latter impression is sometimes confirmed by the Virgoan preciseness, refinement, fastidious love of cleanliness, hygiene and good order, conventionality and aristocratic attitude of reserve. They are usually observant, shrewd, critically inclined, judicious, patient, practical supporters of the status quo, and tend toward conservatism in all departments of life. On the surface they are emotionally cold, and sometimes this goes deeper, for their habit of suppressing their natural kindness may in the end cause it to atrophy, with the result that they shrink from committing themselves to friendship, make few relationships, and those they do make they are careful to keep superficial.

Virgo is said to govern the hands, abdomen, intestines, spleen and central nervous system. Illnesses to which its natives are prone include catarrh, cold, coughs, pleurisies, pneumonia and nervous instabilities. Their natures make them inclined to worry and this makes them vulnerable to stomach and bowel troubles, including colic and ulcers. Male Virgoans may have trouble with their sexual organs. Both sexes are strongly interested in drugs and esoteric cuisine and as their delicate stomachs require them to be careful about their diet, it is essential that they treat their fascination with exotic food with extreme care.

Heaven knows yall, in the blink of an eye, when I think of certain things, my stomach knots up like crazy, then I must find the nearest rerstroom, asap(I know, tmi, lol!). I do know it’s some kid of anxiety thing I have going on. Also, when I’m stressed out, I lose my appetite completely. Wo is me!!!

    LIKES
  • Health foods
  • Lists
  • Hygiene
  • Order
  • Wholesomeness
    • DISLIKES

    • Hazards to health
    • Anything sordid
    • Sloppy workers
    • Squalor
    • Being uncertain

    The article goes on regarding negative issues with Virgoans:

    Problem:  Finding yourself frequently alone and unable to keep friends for more than a few weeks.
    Solution:  Try not to be argumentative over much and the constant criticism that Virgoans give to their companions are not endearing qualities to have. Try to live and let live, they will love you for it.

    Problem:  People tend to avoid making close contact with you.
    Solution:  Being too preoccupied with health and making it a continual topic of conversation. Try to keep your tips and suggestions about health and health products to yourself unless asked for them.

    Problem:  Dissatisfied with the way your life is turning out; no excitement or change to speak of.
    Solution:  You may be restricting yourself by reducing your life to a set of theories and pigeon-holes. Try to express the positive by first asking yourself, Who or what are you serving; are you devoted or are you enslaved. Answer those questions and then start a new path that includes your true worth.

    Problem:  You may feel that your life and your climb to success is a steep hill that you may never be able to scale.
    Solution:  Try expressing the positive traits of your finely tuned analytical reasoning, employing the light touch with employees and coworkers, while expressing genuine concern for all; You will find those mountains turning into hills that you run right over.

    Wow, that’s interesting!! While I admit I am an anti-social person, it’s part of astrological makeup!! You know I’ve been living in Alabama and yet to have the honor of having a best friend as of yet? I guess I need to loosen up, huh?

    Here are some famous Virgoans:

    Adam Sandler (September 9)

    Amy Irving (September 10)

    Bill Murray (September 21)

    Billy Ray Cyrus (August 25) 

    Cameron Diaz(August 30, 1972)

    Tattoo Design
    If I were to get another tattoo in addition to the three I already have, I would like to get this one,  probably on my right shoulder. It is sweet and simple!
    Ok, so it’s time to start closing the programs on my computer, it’s just about quitting time….that’s all for now, friends!
    May 2, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

    2 Comments »

    1. Im not really sure i believe that stuff but my Pisces sign tends to describe me quite well. And one of my best friends is a Pisces and she is the same way. Virgo seems a lot like my girlfriend who is an Aries. Maybe that’s why i like her so much cuz she is my opposite in many ways. Pisces are very creative and sensitive, unorganized and Aries seem to be very in order and on the ball. Its irritating haha! BTW I know what you mean about a best friend. I have lots of great friends but my gf is the closest to a best friend I have. Its great but sometimes you need something separate from that ya know?

      Comment by madjac74 | May 3, 2010 | Reply

      • I will have to look up Pisces, I have a good friend back in my hometown on Long Island who is one as well. Yes, we CAN be a bit anal retentive at time, lol!! My dad was an Aries and let me tell YOU….he was a clean freak, wow….and also he had been in the military so he was soo strict as well, God bless him. Yes for real, I have the girls I speak with at work, they invite me to functions but I never end up going…Most of my actual friends are males for some reason!! My kids stay with my Mom on weekends and I have ample opportunity to go out, but would rather just stay home and relax, wow, am I depressed or what, haha!!

        Comment by melissavirgo | May 3, 2010 | Reply


    Leave a Reply

